Shopping Cart items Account

Glorious Percussion Engaged As Soloists

A new ensemble, started last year, has made ground-breaking musical advances in Germany: Glorious Percussion, named after the piece of music that brought the players together, has been engaged as soloists with the Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra – the first ever time a percussion ensemble have performed with the orchestra as soloists.

They will perform their name-sake concerto in Berlin on September 17,18 & 19. The ensemble (pictured l to r) comprises of Anders Loguin, Anders Haag, Mika Takehara, Eirik Raude and Robyn Schulkowsky – each member is a renowned performer in their own right, drawing on an extensive array of performance experience from orchestral, chamber and solo work. Following the world premiere of Sofia Gubaidulina’s Glorious Percussion with the Gothenburg Symphony Orchestra last September (’08) and the performances in Berlin, they will perform the work further with the Royal Stockholm Philharmonic Orchestra in May 2010 and the Los Angeles Philharmonic Orchestra a year later.

For more information on their performances in Berlin please visit http://www.berlinerfestspiele.de/de/aktuell/festivals/05_musikfest_berlin/mfb_09_programm/mfb_09_ProgrammlisteDetailSeite_11793.php


The latest in:
• product reviews
• artist interviews
• industry news

New Chick Corea Limited Edition Royalty Ride – History Remade

New Chick Corea Limited Edition Royalty Ride – History Remade

View More